Updates: Hari Raya Cookies

Hellooooo!
I’m so sorry for the lack of updates. I have not been baking for some time or baked any new recipes.

However, I tried something different this year. I actually sold cookies and meringue that I baked. I don’t know how I got the confidence to actually sell something which I don’t really bake.

Firstly, I think it’s a great opportunity because a lot of people are selling something during Hari Raya.

Secondly, since I’m jobless, I feel that this is an extra income for me. At least I can earn some income even though it was not a lot.

20130905-161550.jpg

 

This is my first time baking chocolate chip cookies.

Looking back, I really think I am crazy because usually people sell something that they have confidence in it.

I had to play with the temperature and time. It was really challenge baking cookies. Once you find the right timing and temperature, everything seems easy.

20130905-161705.jpgI did meringue last year.

If you want the recipe, look out for it in my earlier post. However this year, after doing research, I lower the temperature and time and it is better.

After rounds and rounds of baking, I have learnt quite a number of things.

1) You need a lot of patience in baking because you will face a lot of obstacles along the way. Obstacles such as burnt cookies or under-baked cookies. You need to play with the temperature and timing for several times and it might take you one whole day to find the right one.

2) Never give up attitude. I wanted to give up halfway and decided not to take any orders. Thanks to my Mum who has been really supportive and helping me. She was the one who kept telling me it’s okay. Try again. Try baking for hours and then you think it’s not what you wanted, you just feel that all your efforts are wasted.

3) Lastly, you make the recipe, not the recipe make you. This means that you can alter the recipe based on what you feel is right. The recipe is there to guide you. If you think it is too sweet, cut down on the sugar. If you think the cookies need a longer time to bake, then do it. Different oven has different settings and the heat varies. Play around with the temperature and timing. Follow your guts.

Before I end this post, I would like to thank my friends, family members and my mum’s colleague for supporting me and buying the cookies and meringue. I know the cookies and meringue are not perfect and it might not be the best cookies or meringue you have tasted. Your support means a lot to me and I will continue to improve on it.

To my mum, thank you for being there for me and helping me. It was really great way to bond with each other. I still remember we did not sleep the whole night and only finished everything at 9 am.

Leave a Reply

